One Rep Max

Given that there is some drama going on over some people being people, I thought I’d offer some real-life accomplishments I’ve been working on for the past month or two. My only thoughts on the drama between people is that if the Manosphere can be killed or declared dead by a few people having blow-out, personal disagreement, then it isn’t worth a damn. A small number of people do not own the Manosphere, so they have no authority to kill it. Otherwise, what kind of pathetic, simpering frame is that?

I’ve been doing a strength training routine called StrongLifts 5×5. It is based on your current strength (established 1-Rep Maximum) and then builds gains into sets of reps over the course of 5-6 weeks. THIS week is the week I establish my new 1RMs for the next session.

My previous 1RMs were:
Back Squat: 285lbs
Bench Press: 265lbs
Overhead Press: 160lbs
Deadlift: 435lbs

Today I hit my NEW 1RM for Back Squat @ 315lbs. I added 30lbs since starting this routine at the end of February. That’s a huge gain, although it is very typical to see huge gains in the beginning. Still, feeling the success and improvement is motivation to push harder.
It feels really good to see and feel the results of this training.
I do owe a lot of credit to a guy I work with who has been giving me some serious coaching, especially establishing the proper form of my lifts. He’s been Power Lifting for a number years and he can put up some serious numbers.

So do you even lift, bro?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Rep Max

  1. Agapoula says:

    Bravo, Bravo, Bravo! Yayy.. I’m working on strength training myself, picking my kittens up and down is quite hard work, and I’m starting to see the progress in my biceps. 🙂

Leave a Reply

